humbug

It’s funny how little it takes to just change your mind. Or at least make you question it.

I had my interview with a MABECS counsellor today. My “mock Oxford interview”. How was it? Iffy. If I could I’d redo everything and be more articulate. I am not good under pressure. Funny. I did answer whatever questions he had. I tried my best to seem like I knew what the hell I was doing. But it’s not easy you know. Pretending like you know what’s going on when in actuality your mind is racing and drawing a blank.

My personal views on certain topics are very conservative and the world doesn’t want that. Medical schools in the UK are purposefully weeding out candidates that aren’t quite as “open minded” to certain things. Ie: abortion, euthanasia. They’d rather have students that already have that liberal midset… those who would already be willing to break the Hippocratic oath of “I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody if asked for it, nor will I make a suggestion to this effect. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.” Maybe I’m not cut out for it then.

But if people like me turn away from a possible career in this field, the future doctors would be ones who wouldn’t offer you the “other perspective”. They would be all about the science of the body and not about the holistic approach of mind+soul+body. There are more factors in the practice of medicine than just what science can tell us. Just because you’re of the liberal school of thought does not make you right. Just because you can do something does not give you the license to.

Well, chances are I won’t even be interviewed by Oxford. There are too many other applicant who would fit their mold. In fact, chances are, I won’t even be able to pursue medicine in the UK…or at all. I know religion and science are not good bed-fellows but don’t forget Mendel was a monk. So put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Leave a Reply

