Double standard much?

You know how our Malaysian censorship board censors a lot of words in songs right? For example:

Another shot of whiskey, can’t stop looking at the door.
Wishing you’d come sweeping in the way you did before.

Lady Antebellum- Need You Now

No matter gay, straight, or bi,
lesbian, transgendered life,
I’m on the right track baby,
I was born to survive.

Lady Gaga- Born this Way

Drink beer with the guys
And chase after girls

Beyonce- If I Were a Boy

Last Friday night
We went streaking in the park
Skinny dipping in the dark
Then had a menage a trois

Katy Perry- Last Friday Night
Mentioning alcoholic beverages is wrong on Malaysian radio since it is against the belief of Islam? Fine. Mentioning anything to do with one’s sexuality is censored because it’s again, against the belief of Islam? Fine. Those are valid points.
BUT how come a song like Hotel Room by Pitbull is not censored in the least? Especially with the most graphic lyrics possible. I have to switch channels because the song makes me feel like taking a bath. It is so disgusting and so derogatory that I am appalled that it is even on Malaysian airwaves. Don’t know what I’m talking about?
Forget about your boyfriend and meet me at the hotel room,
You can bring your girlfriends and meet me at the hotel room
Sure. Forget about my boyfriend which clearly means I’m in a serious relationship and mess around with you? How cheap am I?
I’m the plumber tonight, I’ll check your pipes, oh, you the healthy type.
Really censorship board? What do you think that means? Those pipes are definitely not the ones in our walls.
Let me tell you what we gon do. 2 + 2, I’m gon undress you.
Then we’re gonna go 3 and 3 you gon’ undress me. Then we’re gon’ go 4 and 4,
We gon’ freak some more, but first!
Come on! Not obvious enough?
Put them fingers in your mouth uh open up yout
Blouse and pull that g-string down south oooo! OK shawty,
1’s company, 2’s a crowd, and 3’s a party. your girl ain’t with it
NOW do you see what the heck the song is about?
First he’s promoting adultery.
Then he’s promoting promiscuity and other sex related stuff.
If you want to censor something, censor that. I seriously doubt hearing Beyonce say “beer” is going to send people rampaging to the nearest bar for a bottle of it. I seriously doubt Lady Gaga telling you to be proud of your sexual orientation (regardless whether you agree with deviations or not) is going to make every guy or girl change theirs. Sure Katy Perry suggests something in French but most people don’t know what the heck she’s saying.
But really, that Pitbull song is wrong in so many ways. Is it still on air because it’s a guy singing it? I don’t want to suggest sexism but hey, that could be it. It’s alright if a guy sings about it because the guy should be the dominant one. I am not a feminist (alright fine, I am a little) so I’m jsut going to chalk this up to your complete ignorance of the meaning of lyrics that don’t hide behind the clouds of a foreign tongue or suggestive words. Those lyrics scream at you. If you want to enforce your laws,be fair. Be equal. Because your double standard is clearly showing.
2 thoughts on “Double standard much?

Leave a Reply

