Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SO MANY SPOILERS AND I DON’T KNOW HOW TO MAKE A DROP WHEN THERE ARE SPOILERS.

SO… DEAL WITH IT.

Harry Potter and I go way back to when I was a child. I’m almost an adult now and I’m still relatively close to his world. alright FINE I’M A FANATIC. Perhaps my fanaticism is the reason I’m going to be harsh on this movie. To be fair, I’m going to warn you one last time that from this point on.. SPOILERS abound.

In general, I’m not too pleased with the movie. Sure, it was visually great but in reference to the book (and only because I know the book so well), I am sorry to say it was not up to standards. But of course they had to deal with the lack of time given for the movie and the fact that the details they left out were so important they could not fit it in in snippets because that would have ruined it completely. Maybe they’ll be there in the extended DVD. hopefully.

THE GOOD BITS:

1. Neville Longbottom
He was so kickass in this movie. I am so glad for the extra bits they gave him, those extra few minutes. That guy stole the show in my opinion.

2. The Grey Lady
She was scary good. They did a good job with portraying her. The animators really managed to capture her shape and movement. The lady who played Helena Ravenclaw was spot on.

3. The animation
The dragon, the magic, the pixies, the fire, the water. The animators deserve an award for their skills in making everything look quite genuine. Kudos to them.

4. Fight scenes
The fight scenes were really brought to life with the actors. Bellatrix vs Molly Weasley was good. Molly’s final spell was great. The draining of air/choking/ compression of Bellatrix was a nice touch.

5. Alan Rickman
That guy really really really encompasses who Severus Snape is. The scene of him cradling Lily’s dead body was heartbreaking. BRAVO Alan Rickman. You deserve all the awards.

6. Voldie’s awesome hugs. one of the best scenes.

THE BAD PARTS:

1. WHY bother hinting that Neville ends up with Luna when he marries Hannah Abbott? WHY WRITERS? WHY?

2. WHY didn’t Harry tell his son that the Sorting Hat took his opinion into account when he was sorted? That conversation was a line short.

3. WHY wasn’t there any Teddy Lupin at the end? Why was ONE mention good enough? WHY WHY WHY WHY?

4. WHY wasn’t there Percy weeping over Fred? THAT SCENE WAS IMPORTANT FOR THE WEASLEY FAMILY!

5. WHY didn’t Harry explain to Voldemort why he (Harry) was the true owner of the Elder Wand? They had at least 2 pages of talking in the book but BARELY a minute in the movie!

6. WHY were Snape’s memories badly done? They made it seem like Lily liked James from the start and that was untrue. Those memories could have been so much better. Really. The reason their friendship broke down, the jealousy Snape felt… that was important.

7. Grindelwald’s and Ariana’s story lines were chopped out of the movies. Why? Albus Dumbledore only became who he was because of those two people. His relationships with them should have been given more president.

8. And I’m sorry but Voldemort looks like a carp. Full-stop. Nothing scary about him. I actually laughed when he walked into Hogwarts.

9. Harry BROKE the Elder Wand! BEFORE HE fixed his OWN WAND! W T H. HE FIXED HIS WAND IN THE BOOK YOU DUMB WRITERS. KEEP THAT PART IN!

ahem.

So yes, I didn’t come up SOBBING because HP ended for me. I came out annoyed that it didn’t end as well as it could have. So to me, HP is not over quite yet. Perhaps tomorrow, I’ll be crushed. Right now, I’m still midly ticked off. I would have added a whole hour’s worth of detail to their final product.

Should you go watch it? Yes. If you’re just a fan of the movies, it’ll be great. If you’re a slightly obsessive, anal one like me, you’d come out “it was good but not good enough”. Still, you should watch it. Why?

Because it’s the end.

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

  1. Hi there, I’m a huge HP fan, one of those who have actually read the books, and know the last one by heart. I absolutely agree with you about the good and the bad bits (specially about Fred, and the wand, and Dumbledore’s story ( it was bad that they didn’t mention anything about his past, and the conversation between him and Harry in the end was painfully missing…)). But in general I liked the movie a lot. Yeas, probably it wasn’t the best they could do, and they have cut many important moments, but besides that the movie was pretty good.
    I think the whole Nevil-Luna thing was just because they are one of the major characters… and, well, they would be nice together. Not many people know that Nevil is married to Hannah, and I don’t think that the people who have only watched the movies without reading the books even remember who she was. About Snape’s memories – I don’t think they were that bad. Everybody got the main massage – he was madly in love with Lily, that’s why he always have protected Harry, and was actually working for Dumbledore. I guess they didn’t put Teddy, because he wasn’t directly involved with the main story and the main characters ( they didn’t included Victoire, either,so…).
    In general I think the movie was great. It had it’s soft points, but I’m ready to forgive them, because it is the last one. It is pretty hard for me to except the fact that there will be no more Harry…
    Anyway, I’m very glad to ‘meet’ someone new who knows that much about the series. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the reply. I appreciate it. And I’m glad to hear from a fellow Potterhead. Yeah, I’m going to miss the movies and the books. Sad how a part of my childhood is kind of over.

      And yes, the movie wasn’t THAT bad. I agree with you but I cannot get over the fact Harry didn’t fix his wand before dumping the Elder Wand. That part is still ridiculous.

      Like

  2. I am 100% agree with you about the Elder wand – i was very disappointed, because i always admired Harry’s original wand, and she meant so much for him…
    And I completely understand what you mean about the end of a part of your childhood – same here. After the film ended I cried all night not because the film touched me so much, because there will be no more Harry adventures… I think that only people like us, who have read all the books, and know the story and the characters so well, actually understand the movie and it mean so much for us, because others, fans of the movie series only (!) they just… well they haven’t felt the real magic that the books give…
    Ok, I’ve started talking emotional, and I don’t want to bore you. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. no no, don’t worry about it. It’s nice to hear from people who completely understand the “post Potter” depression. 🙂 It’s nice to meet you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

