potter

WARNING: This is written by a hardcore Harry Potter devotee and it may cause revulsion in non-Potter fanatics,

Let’s all admit it; we’re all Hufflepuffs on the inside.

As much as we’d all like to think that we belong in Gryffindor or even Ravenclaw (and yes, Slytherin to those of us who believe we’re “rebels”) we’re pretty much Hufflepuffs.

At least I know I am. And it’s not necessarily a bad thing.

When I first picked up Harry Potter I was 7 years old. My aunt brought the first book back from London for my brother and I. I fell in love with the world of magic and the adventures which kids only slightly older than me had in the pages of that 223 paged book. I wanted to be like Hermione (didn’t we all?) and most of all, I wanted to be in Gryffindor.

According to the Sorting Hat, to be Gryffindor, well, it’s a pretty tough crowd to jump in to:

You might belong in Gryffindor,

 Where dwell the brave at heart,

 Their daring, nerve, and chivalry,

Set Gryffindors apart;

Right…

Now how many of us are that brave?

How often are we gutsy enough to tell off a friend when they hurt us?

How often do we stand up for those who are teased or bullied?

How many times have we stared down at our book when the teacher asks a question in class?

How many times do we send back an order in a restaurant because it wasn’t quite up to our liking?

For the most of us it’s not often; Or ever in some cases. We tend to hold back when it comes to standing up for ourselves or for others. It’s that usual attitude that we all have, the defense mechanism of being “normal” and not standing out of the crowd.

But it’s not all bad being in Hufflepuff. A Hufflepuff is ‘just and loyal, true and unafraid of toil’. Now that does not seem to be a bad thing right? Being a Hufflepuff means you look for the best in people. You’re there to help. You’re hardworking and you put others before yourself. Now that’s the kind of person we all want in our corner right?

I know, feeling like you’re a Hufflepuff is not a dream. I personally know that I’d love to trample the Sorting Hat once I’ve been sorted there.

But remember, the Hufflepuffs stayed to fight in the Final Battle at Hogwarts.

Cedric Diggory (who the Goblet of Fire chose as the bravest of the students) was a Hufflepuff.

Not so bad after all huh?

Leave a Reply

